My Laptop Miraculously Revived!

Well, it wasn’t really a miracle, but more of brute force and an entire system restore to factory defaults. I won’t bore you with the arduous processes that I undertook to fix my dear laptop, but just know this: I was able to recover all my files, but the Windows 7 64-bit OS still kept refusing to boot up even after I put in a Windows 7 CD to try to repair it. Next, attempt to restore it using a back-up. After multiple failed attempts to restore my laptop to a back-up (even with my friends who were either Computer Science or IT majors helping), I was forced to ask my parents to send me the factory default recovery discs that I was forced to make when I first got this laptop. In hindsight, I really should have brought them with me (I had to wait 3 days for them to arrive)… Anyway, did a complete erase and start over. I decided on this, because this would allow me to make a new fresh start on my laptop, which previously had so many programs and files, and to refine my laptop’s performance.

Unfortunately, this also comes at a time when things start to get real busy for me this one week at my summer academy. I still have yet to even finish most spring series or watch a single episode out of all the new summer anime series, but I will try to come up with posts. Also, due to the massive Steam summer camp sales (curse you for making me spend so much money!), I have accumulated over 50 games for around $80-$90, and so wish dearly to play all those games. I must ask you to be patient with me as I attempt to get back into blogging and balance my time with watching anime, playing my newly acquired games, going to college summer classes, and fixing up & uploading my photos. Also need to catch up on posts from fellow anime-bloggers, as well.

P.S. If you also have a Steam account, add me as a friend if you like! ^_^

7 Comments

Filed under Other

7 responses to “My Laptop Miraculously Revived!

  1. 50 games…Holy…how will you play all of those?

    • Ahaha. About a third of the games can easily be completed within a day, so those are no problems. As for the others, I can definitely say that they will be enough to last for a long time before I even think about buying another game. 😀

      • Glad to see you back, my friend. I wanted to suggest the factory disc as a last resort, but at least you got it back up and running; and yes, most of it can be recovered. Back-up once everything is restored and configured to your way and do it often. One of things they are teaching us in my IT classes.

        And enjoy your games as well. I have been in a dry spell lately with those (only played one new title this year, lol).

  2. I’m glad that your PC has been fixed, it’s also nice that you don’t need to spend that much. Anyway, welcome back to blogging! I’m looking forward to your posts ^^

  3. …I hate computers. Well…at the same time I love them, but it’s like, why can’t they just work, you know? (yes, I’ve had my fair share of computer problems as well. Mostly with games, but also some other ones as well).

    Also, if you like Steam, I highly recommend you check out a site called GOG.com. They mostly focus on retro games (1990’s-early 2000’s), but they’re totally DRM and copy protection free, and nothing (excluding the Witcher 2) is over $10. I mean, it’s just a personal recommendation, but having used both (GOG and Steam), I much prefer GOG. Anyways, you should check it out.

Come. Share your dreams...

