Autumn 2011 Previews & Impressions!

After learning the hard way about the hard work and long hours writing up a seasonal preview for last summer, I have decided not to write up brief summaries. Too much hassle for me, so just click on the image above to enlarge it and see all the info condensed into one convenient image. The chart is from Chartfag’s Den of Lesbian Enterprise, by the way, a very good site for looking up charts of seasonal anime series. A brief explanation on my scoring system: they are merely a way of gauging whether I’m interested in watching a particular series. The titles colored blue are the series that I am most likely to watch (90% and above). They are NOT a way of determining whether I will blog about them or not. I may occasionally come out with some posts about a single episode or more since that’s my style mixed with editorials. And now I’ll just give my impressions below:


Battle Spirits: Heroes

Battle Spirits: Heroes

Fourth season based on a card game. Not interested at all.

Chances of me watching: 0%


Busou Shinki Moon Angel

Busou Shinki Moon Angel

This does look somewhat interesting, plus it’s only three to five minutes long per episode. Will probably watch this to kill time, but not too excited about it at all.

Chances of me watching: 20%


Cross Fight B-Daman

Cross Fight B-Daman

Based on a marble-shooting toy. Ahh, I remember the good ol’ days of playing with Bomberman toys… Not interested.

Chances of me watching: 0%


HUNTERxHUNTER

HUNTERxHUNTER

A remake of the manga, HUNTERxHUNTER. I haven’t read the manga, but I’m not really too interested in it at all.

Chances of me watching: 10%


Chihayafuru

Chihayafuru

I’m very interested in this series, especially the part about Karuta, a Japanese card game. I would love to learn more about this game and perhaps even teach my friends and play it with them. ^_^

Chances of me watching: 90%


Mobile Suit GUNDAM AGE

Mobile Suit GUNDAM AGE

Another GUNDAM series? I have very little knowledge and the only real experience I have had with this franchise was way back before my anime fandom started in 2005 and I recall very little. Also, the character designs don’t appeal to me at all.

Chances of me watching: 0%


Guilty Crown

Guilty Crown

A very interesting series we have here. Psychics, mecha, government resistance forces, sci-fi, action! It’s quite appealing to me…

Chances of me watching: 90%


UN-GO

UN-GO

A mystery series based on a post-World War II Japanese novel. I’m actually very interested in seeing what the stories will be like, considering that the novel was written after World War II, which was a great time of change in the world and Japan alike.

Chances of me watching: 90%


Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon

Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon

Hmm, this seems like a nice school fantasy series, but it just doesn’t click for me.

Chances of me watching: 50%


Persona 4 The Animation

Persona 4 The Animation

While I have no familiarity with the Persona franchise, this series does perk up my interest with its mystery murders. However, at this point, I’m feeling a bit iffy about it, but that could change when I check the first episode.

Chances of me watching: 80%


Shinryaku!? Ika Musume

Shinryaku!? Ika Musume

I am so definitely going to watch this series, having enjoyed the previous season and the manga immensely! Squidtastic comedy!

Chances of me watching: 100%


Fate/Zero

Fate/Zero

Does this even need an explanation? Yes, I am in.

Chances of me watching: 200%!!!!!


WORKING’!!

WORKING'!!

To be honest, the previous season ended off on a neutral note for me, but I still really enjoyed it. I just hope that the jokes don’t get old and stale real fast… But I might end up watching it guaranteed if it has a great opening like its predecessor. One, one, one!

Chances of me watching: 90%


Maken-Ki!

Maken-Ki!

This seems like another Sekirei copycat, but I did enjoy the manga quite a bit. Plus, the character designs feel so very familiar to me for some reason…

Chances of me watching: 70%


Kimi to Boku

Kimi to Boku

Well. I feel nothing regarding this series. I honestly have no idea how this series will go, but I suppose we’ll have to wait and see.

Chances of me watching: 50%


Fujilog 2nd Season

Fujilog 2nd Season

It’s a second season. I’ve never seen the first season. Plus the whole thing looks unappealing to me. Not interested.

Chances of me watching: 0%


Mashiro-Iro Symphony

Mashiro-Iro Symphony

A generic eroge adaptation. I don’t really have enough information on it to warrant making a split decision, but I’m feeling too lazy to look up more info.

Chances of me watching: 30%


Last Exile: Ginyoku no Fam

Last Exile: Ginyoku no Fam

Ah, the skies! I’m a lover of the skies and adventures that comes with exploring and viewing the world from the skies. ^_^

Chances of me watching: 90%


Tamayura ~hitotose~

Tamayura ~hitotose~

Well, it has the photography theme in it, and as an amateur photographer and lover of photography, I’m in!

Chances of me watching: 100%


Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi

Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi

Yaoi. Second season. Not yet watched first season. No.

Chances of me watching: 0%


Lupin III (4th untitled series)

Lupin III (4th untitled series)

Very little information on this series, but I think I would like to watch this, but I wonder if I should watch the previous Lupin series?

Chances of me watching: 60%


Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle

Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle

A puzzle-loving detective who tackles the “unsolvable puzzle”. Reminds me of Manjin Tantei Nougami Neuro. Mildy interested in this series. Which reminds me, I need to finish Manjin Tantei Nougami Neuro

Chances of me watching: 60%


Bakuman 2

Bakuman 2

Haven’t watched the first season, so why would I want to watch this series?

Chances of me watching: 0%


Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

I really enjoyed the manga, but the character designs for this series are throwing me off a bit. Aaagh, great story vs. unappealing character designs…

Chances of me watching: 70%


Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai!

Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai!

Well, I’m interested in this series purely because of the attractive character designs and the characters’ personalities. Plus I’ve heard good things about the visual novel that this is based on.

Chances of me watching: 90%


Mirai Nikki

Mirai Nikki

A diary that records future events and a game to determine who shall become the lord of Time and Space. Color me interested, but I already have so many series that I want to watch…

Chances of me watching: 90%


Shakugan no Shana III

Shakugan no Shana III

The final season of Shakugan no Shana. One of the first anime series I watched shortly during the first burst of my anime fandom, I’m definitely going to watch this for the nostalgia and the wrap up of everything!

Chances of me watching: 100%


C^3 -CubexCursedxCurious-

C^3 -CubexCursedxCurious-

Aiyayaya, another series that piqued my interest. Dang it, why are there so many good series this season!?

Chances of me watching: 80%


Ben-To

Ben-To

Oh, lol, I think I would really enjoy this just because of the premise! Would be interesting and hilarious to see how they’re going to fight over half-price bento!

Chances of me watching: 80%


And so we come to the end of my impressions. So, the total tally of the series this season all adds up to a whopping 29 series! Out of 29 series, the series that I will most likely be watching (colored blue) numbers 10-14 series (give or take). Add to that the additional shows continuing on from last season, the total would be 13-17 series! I foresee a turbulent season ahead for myself…

So which series are you looking forward to the most?

11 Comments

Filed under Anime, Seasonal Previews

11 responses to “Autumn 2011 Previews & Impressions!

  1. Embarrassing to say, but a heavy majority of that list will be going on my watch list. Can’t remember the exact number, but at least I think 19 shows alone, without counting OVA’s and movies on the rise. You can probably guess half of the shows I will watch XD

    • Wow, good luck with watching all those series! And I can definitely guess what you’re planning to watch based on my visits to your blog. I understand fully, since there’s so many interesting series that I want to watch as well! >_<

  2. Pingback: This Genius’s Compendium For The 2011 Fall Anime Season | Organization Anti Social Geniuses

  3. The only reason you would watch Bakuman Season 2 is if you’ve been reading the manga and you’re looking forward to what happens to them after they’re serialized in Shonen Jump, I mean Jack. Yes, they changed that for no particular reason. Otherwise, watch it if you want to!

    • Ahaha, yeah, true. I did read the manga, but I stopped somewhere right before they were serialized. Huh, didn’t know that they were serialized. Maybe I should catch up with the manga and watch the 1st season after all. ^_^ (But that would add to my backlog… -_-)

  4. So many series, my body is already crying thinking to how many posts I’ll have to write…:P

  5. I’m definitely going to be watching Fate/Zero and Shana 3 so I can say that I finished it all. Besides that, the only one that I’m going to be watching for sure is Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai. Everything else is a maybe right now.

    • Same here with Fate/Zero and Shana III. I really enjoyed the franchise, and I will be quite sad that Shana will end. And, there’s still some time and I’ve been considering my picks quite a bit, adding Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai to one of my guaranteed watches. ^_^

  6. Yi

    Ika Musume, Shana, and Tamayura at 100%, Fate/Zero at 200%. Sounds about right! I’m very interested in Last Exile as well. This is the season of sequels/ related works for me.

Come. Share your dreams...

