Twelve Days of X’mas: Day IV ~ Fabulous Max!

Mawaru Penguindrum

On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love for anime gave me…
4 unusual penguins
3 bright stars
2 adorable flowers
And a charming idol.

It should come to no surprise that the anime series that garnered so much attention and rave with regards to its allusions and symbolism, Mawaru Penguindrum, has gained a special place within my Twelve Days of X’mas. After all, this series is directed by my favorite director, Ikuhara Kunihiko, who also directed Sailor Moon and Revolutionary Girl Utena. Throughout the many plot twists and subtle layers of allusions and symbols, Mawaru Penguindrum has become a tantalizing series that never fails to take the viewers for a wild ride and attempting to grasp at the mystery that is the Penguindrum.

Yuri in 2nd OP

Of course, there are also some very surprising twists, and one of them took me by huge surprise. If you know about my interest and love for yuri, you’ll know that I, of course, refer to the 14th and 15th episodes where we find out that Yuri actually lives up to her name. I never would have thought it at all, and I could not believe that it could have been that obvious! But anyway, I did enjoy watching these episodes especially the juicy parts and about Yuri’s own background.

Tokikage Yuri's background.

Before watching the 14th and 15th episodes, Tokikage Yuri was my top favorite Mawaru Penguindrum character for her mysterious and adult flair, and after these episodes, she has now easily become one of the most memorable characters of the year for me. But I’m quite disappointed that we don’t really get to see more of Yuri recently since it would appear that her role is now over with one final episode left for the series.

Sanetoshi watching over the children.

In addition to Yuri’s moments, there were some great, powerful special moments as well, such as Shouma’s Mary Had a Little Lamb story in episode 12, Masako’s bold last stand in episode 22, and the beautiful scenes of Shoma and Himari in the midst of a starry world with a wide expanse of water around them in episode 23. There are far too many moments that I’ve truly appreciated, and I do not have the time to list them all. Just maybe, I will come up with another post after the finale of Mawaru Penguindrum next week, and I do believe that Mawaru Penguindrum is also on track to become one of the most memorable anime series of the year for me as well.

Sweet dreams, Himari.

I will truly feel melancholic once the train ride that is the Mawaru Penguindrum end, and I really cannot bear to see it end. But all good things must come to an end, and I hope Mawaru Penguindrum delivers one great finale for us all to remember.

9 Comments

Filed under 12 Days of X'mas 2011, Anime

9 responses to “Twelve Days of X’mas: Day IV ~ Fabulous Max!

  1. Yes! Mawaru Penguindrum! Easily one of the best shows for 2011 it will be tough to see other shows go up against this beast of a series. Lots of amazing characters and so many twists and turns which really kept me addicted to every episode.

    Sure there are a few dull episodes but I always expect such things when you deal with 24+ episodes.

    Ringo! Is my favorite and Shouma ❤

    • Mawaru Penguindrum is such a wonderful gem, and the past 23 episodes have been amazing. I’m glad that I decided to pick this up right from the moment I first heard of this series!

      I’m rooting for Ringo and Shouma as well. ^_^

  2. tsurugiarashix

    Ikuhara Kunihiko is the master of making his fans and viewers draw speculation. Think Peguindrum is the perfect example of that. Probably was and is one of the biggest surprise series for me this year among anything else.

  3. I’m really looking forward to seeing what exactly the penduindrum is. I just finished Revolutionary Girl Utena this week and there are a lot of similarities leading up to the final episode.

    • I’m really also looking forward to the Penguindrum as well. It’s been so tantalizing and mysterious. I have yet to watch Revolutionary Girl Utena, but it’s winter break for me now so I’ll have the time to watch it!

  4. First of all, I really love the images that you used.

    This series is really something when it comes to symbolism and allusions. I also like how good is the directionality and how it keeps its audience always guessing.

    Btw, Yuri is my second favourite character on this series, being Ringo as the first. I enjoyed how there’s so much emotions behind Yuri’s flair and of course, how she also truly live up with her name. ❤

    • I also love the symbols and allusions, and I always enjoy reading between the lines to get some unexpected, pleasant revelations or connections. It’s such a great series!

      Ringo would be second for me for her wonderful character development throughout the series, and then Masako for her bold, fiery personality. ^_^

  5. Pingback: Twelve Days of X’mas: Epilogue ~ A Magical Time! | Ephemeral Dreams

Come. Share your dreams...

