Twelve Days of X’mas: Day VII ~ The Holy Grail War Begins

Fate/zero Christmas!

On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love for anime gave me…
7 legendary servants
6 fond memories
5 magical girls
4 unusual penguins
3 bright stars
2 adorable flowers
And a charming idol.

Fate/zero was one of the most anticipated series for me this year, and when I heard that the first episode would be an hour long, I was pleasantly surprised at the prospect of watching more than usual in the first episode. Needless to say, the first episode was a great starter, and while it did involve plenty of dialogue with little action, it did great to bring us back into the nasuverse. In this episode, we are introduced to the Holy Grail War and the magi who all have their own goals and wishes. The build-up throughout this episode continues to rise until we finally come to the summoning scenes, bringing goosebumps and seeing the mighty servants summoned in all their glory. This episode is one of my top favorite episodes of the year because of all the greatness and nostalgia of the Fate universe.

Fate X'mas!

Another part I liked about Fate/zero is all the character interactions between the magi and the servants. Iskander’s and Waver’s relationship is one of the most popular in the ani-blogging community, because they are both completely the opposite of each other and yet, they are such a great duo and a power to be reckoned with. Irisviel’s and Saber’s relationship is also popular as well, because Saber is the charming knight who serves and protects her lady, Irisviel. This couple is more popular with me, naturally, and I do think that their relationship is another one of my favorites this year as well. Plus the Einzbern family with Kiritsugu, Irisviel, and Illyasviel is one of the cutest family I’ve seen this year.

The Einzbern family.

Irisviel and Illyasviel

I think I’ll stop the gushing on Fate/zero here for now, seeing as I’m feeling a mild feverish at the moment. No need to worry, I just need some rest. To make up for this lack-luster post, here are some more fun pictures!

The seven servants.

Can't say that I approve of Gilgamesh and Saber together...

An epic snowfight!

This would be one of the greatest snowfights ever!

9 Comments

Filed under 12 Days of X'mas 2011, Anime

9 responses to “Twelve Days of X’mas: Day VII ~ The Holy Grail War Begins

  1. Hooraaaay Fate/Zero! I love watching this so much, the best thing so far I have enjoyed some of the new character designs they are amazing! Like Berzerker and Caster. Sad to see it end soon and take a 2month break or so I have heard from a few others, the second half should provide more action and fighting! I can’t wait for that.

    Great pictures too…very nice

    • I also just loved the designs and animation quality as well! Yeah, I have also heard that it will come back in spring 2012, but I’m not too worried since it would give the creators more time to come up with movie-quality action. They had better come up with a great second half! ^_^

  2. Kai

    The Holy Xmas Grail War~ Where Santa will grant your every wish when you emerge victorious in the war ;p

  3. Kai

    Oooh and lol~ You used a picture of Saber Extra D;

  4. I like the Saber and Irisviel relationship more too, they look cute together even though they’re both girls.

  5. Pingback: Twelve Days of X’mas: Epilogue ~ A Magical Time! | Ephemeral Dreams

Come. Share your dreams...

