Twelve Days of X’mas: Day XII ~ A Great Year to Behold for Ephemeral Dreams!

A Merry Christmas!

On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love for anime gave me…
12 days of fun posts
11 future dead ends
10 squiddy tentacles
9 awesome race-cars
8 minutes of fame
7 legendary servants
6 fond memories
5 magical girls
4 unusual penguins
3 bright stars
2 adorable flowers
And a charming idol.

It has been a great time writing these 11 Twelve Days of X’mas posts plus the Ani-Blogger Choice Anime Awards, and now it’s time for the last top anime-related moment for the year: starting my very own anime blog.

Santa has arrived!

As of now, it has been nearly 9 months since my blog’s founding in April, and I have enjoyed writing about anime and such. Before I decided to start blogging, I was a lurker for quite a long time (about maybe 6-7 years before). I enjoyed reading through various blogs (though most of them are now inactive, with some still going strong), but I had never attempted to comment or interact with other like-minded people. It was mostly because I was afraid of how things were going to go, and with my being deaf and previous experience in real life, I chose not to do so.

Christmas art!

But then, I decided with courage to venture out there in the Internet community by starting my first blog, Ephemeral Curiosity on January 22, 2011. Yes, the name was inspired from Random Curiosity if you were wondering… (another wannabe blog copy and I am ashamed to have even attempted to do so) And my handle name back then was EphemeralCuriosity. But things didn’t go so well at all, and I only blogged about various topics ranging from my school stuff to anime (the only few anime-related posts I have in that blog are of 5 Centimeters Per Second, but they’ve been moved to this blog if you want to read them). Added to that my naiveté and inexperience with blogging plus very little traffic and plenty of spam comments, and you have a recipe for a… horribly designed blog just begging to be killed within 3 months. After some quick thinking, I pulled the plug.

A beautiful snowglobe...

Learning from my first failure with Ephemeral Curiosity, I decided to just foregone all the unnecessary stuff and just focus on anime. My new blog would just be purely an anime blog. I decided to come up with a new blog name, and it was then decided that it would be called Ephemeral Dreams. I decided that I wanted to use ephemeraldreams.wordpress.com as my blog’s URL, but someone has already claimed it and it still hasn’t been updated at all even to this day. Tsk. So I went with the next, closest URL I could get and that was using my newly changed handle name, Ephemeral Dreamer, and using ephemeraldreamer.wordpress.com. So that would be why my URL address and my blog title seems off if some of you were wondering. So Ephemeral Dreams was founded on April 2, 2011.

Riding on the sleigh and delivering gifts!

With all the hassle of starting another new blog finalized, I started to comment more often around the anime blogging community. I didn’t have any contacts at all in the community, so I was a new young blogger whom no one knew about beforehand at all. I knew that it would take quite a long time to build up my blog’s reputation and traffic, but even so I persisted in commenting more. So I kept spreading word about my blog until it became what you see before yourself today. Posts started to have better quality, comments trickled in, views spiked every once in a while. Now, I still have a long way to go, but I still enjoy the long arduous journey of growing and developing my blog. After all, it’s the journey that counts, not the destination!

A beautiful Christmas tree to end it all!

So, readers, friends, family, and fellow bloggers. Thank you very much for visiting my blog, and have a very merry Christmas! And I’ll be seeing you again on New Year’s Eve for one last celebratory blast!

9 Comments

Filed under 12 Days of X'mas 2011, Anime, Other, Personal

9 responses to “Twelve Days of X’mas: Day XII ~ A Great Year to Behold for Ephemeral Dreams!

  1. Pingback: Twelve Days of X’mas: Epilogue ~ A Magical Time! | Ephemeral Dreams

  2. Whoaaaa very nice! I started out solo and then teamed up with my brother, shortly after he stopped blogging I went out searching for other bloggers! And found banana muffin blog with Ruby aka Cake. This was in 2010! Then I heard a tweet about Metanorn looking for writers, I applied the first time and didn’t make the cut. But tried again about 4 months later and got in! I tell ya joining a team was wonderful, but of course solo gives you more freedom to experiment on post styles and what not.

    Keep up the good work! What winter anime are you planning on taking on? Or are you not to into episodics? Then again you have the freedom to do anything xD

    • Nice story! I did consider maybe joining a team blog, but in the end, I wanted to be independent and have my own voice. ^_^

      As for winter anime, I know that I’ll definitely watch and possibly take on Nisemonogatari. As for the rest, I’ll have a preview post up soon after New Year, so check back! I tend to do editorial episodics at times (like Mawaru Penguindrum), so we’ll also see about that.

  3. It’s always interesting to hear the stories that lead to the creation of blogs like this. Good to know you’re still enjoying it.

    And have a Merry Christmas.

  4. What a nice read, thanks for sharing. I also started around the same time just like you and It feels like it was only yesterday when we exchanged links. it’s really nice to know and reminisce the origins and how our blogs were formed. All of us got to start from something, right? And yes, look at you now, you’d been really doing well handling Ephemeral Dreams.

    Keep up the good work! Also, I know it’s a bit late, but Merry Christmas to you Effie-chan.

    • It does seem like only yesterday since we exchanged links! Wow, I can’t believe it’s already been that long. And you’re also handling Lemmas and Submodalities as well!

      A belated merry Christmas to you and keep up your good work on your blog!

  5. You’re absolutely right, it’s the journey that’s the important part. I’m glad to hear that you didn’t give up on blogging after what happened to your first blog. I also experienced some problems getting the URL I wanted since nopy.wordpress.com was already taken. When I eventually decided to get my own domain, I found out that nopy.com was also taken. That’s why now I use nopybot.com

Come. Share your dreams...

