New Year Eve – Best of 2011!

New Year!

As it is New Year Eve now, I’d like to take a moment to come out with my best of the year 2011! These are simple categories enough, and I’m feeling too lazy to come up with creative categories. Have at it!

Best Villain/Antagonist

Kyubey!

For every good side, there is always a dark side. Particularly more so when it’s a matter of life or death and also whether it involves contracting poor innocent girls! The best award for villain goes to the emotionless, rational, cute Kyubey from Puella Magi Madoka Magica! Kyubey is a sinister villain who has made so many hate him to his core for condemning the girls to a fate of despair, and you probably would have never seen a bigger reaction to a villain than anyone else.

Honorable mentions: Sanetoshi from Mawaru Penguindrum, Masakaki from C – The Money of Soul and Possibility Control

Best Female

Tokikage Yuri's background.

With a mysterious flair and a taste for elegance, this woman is best known for her peerless beauty and her persistence for her loved one. That’s right, the award for best female goes to Tokikago Yuri! She easily became my top favorite anime female character after episodes 14 and 15 of Mawaru Penguindrum, and aside from the yuri vibes, I also love her style and flair.

Honorable mentions: Ringo from Mawaru Penguindrum, Gasai Yuno from Mirai Nikki

Best Male

Alexander the Great

He’s the man who you will want to follow for life, and he’s the man who was once known for conquering nearly the entire unknown world! That’s right, the award for best male goes to Iskander, or Broskander as many affectionately refer to him! His bold, straightforward personality coupled with Waver, in every aspect the opposite of Iskander, made for one dynamic personality odd couple and contributed to Fate/zero‘s popularity.

Honorable mentions: Principal from Nichijou, Producer from The iDOLM@STER

Best Opening

With a bloody theme and haunting visuals, this opening will quite possibly give you the shivers and build up anticipation. Mirai Nikki produced one of the most creative and vivid openings of the year, and the music is also quite fitting with its lyrics is what I think. Add to that the scenes of chilling images of objects related to the diary holders and the scenes of Gasai Yuno, this opening pumped me up for an episode.

Honorable mentions: Mawaru Penguindrum OP2, Kamisama Dolls

Best Ending

They say that the best ending is the one that keeps you watching even after the end of the episode. Well, that ending for me was UN-GO‘s ending. The bold use of the visuals plus the great music made me want to keep rewatching it, and so it became the best ending of the year for me.

Honorable mentions: Fractale, The iDOLM@STER (all of them!)

Best Music

Normally, I probably would not have included this category, but there have been some noteworthy music this year that grabbed my attention. Some of the best music came from a show that brings you to the world of entertainment, The iDOLM@STER! Some best musical pieces for me in this series was Chihaya’s songs, Promise and Sleeping Beauty, Smoky Thrill, and some insert songs, such as Kiramekirai. This was one series that actually made me want to look up some more songs from this franchise, and that’s pretty rare coming from me.

Honorable mentions: Mawaru Penguindrum, Fate/zero

Best Guilty Pleasure

Infinite Stratos

Ahem. Well, there is always one series out there that, no matter how bad or underrated it is, you just keep coming back for more. For me, that series would be IS: Infinite Stratos. All the fanservice were quite… pleasing. So, umm, yeah. Moving on.

Honorable mentions: Ben-to, Dog Days

Best Anime

Mawaru Penguindrum

Now this was a very tough decision for me. It also should be noted that my top choices have changed from my Ani-blogger Choice Anime Awards, so some series have fallen and some have risen up. And so, my best anime of the series goes to… Mawaru Penguindrum! The simplicity and complexity of this series gave me so much to interpret, and it evoked strong imagination from me as well. The climaxes and plot twists kept making me wanting more from this tantalizing series, and with the ending entirely open to interpretation, I just have one thing to say: I loved it.

Honorable mentions: Puella Magi Madoka Magica, The iDOLM@STER

Saber New Year!

And so with the awards finished, I wish you all a happy New Year!

10 Comments

Filed under Anime, Other

10 responses to “New Year Eve – Best of 2011!

  1. Wooooo! Very nice list you got here, lots of amazing stuffs! Best villain definitely Kyuubey! Or as I call him king of the trolls…he led those girls on for sooooo long and he can not ever die? Holy….I still remember his whole eating himself scenes….so crazy…

    Yuri and Rider! Some amazing people right there, Rider is just a giant trapped kid trapped in a muscular body haha he is always doing something that makes me grin and laugh! Such a perfect pair with the jumpy Waver.

    Lovely choice in openings, gotta love that Mairai Nikki op…so good…

    I think all the guys and some girls had Infinite Stratos on their guilty pleasure show….I loved watching Charles she was easily my favorite out of all the girls.

    The Idolmaster! Best music so well deserved I want the OST….now….and hooray! Penguin drum ❤ that series and it will probably land on a lot of top five lists.

    Happy 2012! I will be visiting more, also Metanorn has their awards too soon xD

    • I really just can’t helped being charmed by Charlotte, but I think that Chifuyu is my favorite character out of them all. That coolness and sexy mature aura. ^_^

      Happy 2012, and I look forward to seeing the awards as well on Metanorn!

  2. Agreed on the best guilty pleasure, so damn lovely my girls from infinite stratos…*__*

  3. Your picks are pretty close to what I would’ve chosen. The one surprise was choosing Yuri as your top female character; she really didn’t make a big impact for me. From the clips I’ve seen, I’m sure IS would’ve been one of my guilty pleasures too, but I didn’t have enough time for it. Dog Days would’ve been my choice.

    • Yuri did make a huge impact on me with the revelation of her relationship with Momoka, so that was enough to propel her to become one of the most memorable. ^_^

      Dog Days was pretty close, if only because of Eclair and Leo. ❤

  4. Yi

    I just watched Penguindrum 14 and 15 not too long ago… And yes, Tokikago Yuri is the best female character of 2011. I love her so much!! I already loved her because of her design and that deceptive personality, but the yuri and the kinky play just put her over the top.

  5. Broskandar definitely deserves that position, especially considering that there is a lot of people that don’t really like F/Z, but are still watching because of him. I also like how you gave Broducer from The iDOLM@STER some recognition. Though not awe-inspiring like Rider, Broducer does grow to become an a great character. Unfortunately he is easily forgotten.

    Oh, and that Saber picture? Beautiful… 🙂

    • I have felt that Producer is probably the most underrated male character, but he does grow into a strong, very supportive character. If the idols didn’t have his support, where would they be? Maybe I should have done a “Best Supporting Character” award. ^_^’

Come. Share your dreams...

