Winter 2011/2012 Previews & Impressions!

Winter 2011/2012

Starting off 2012, it’s time for a seasonal preview! The chart with information you see above is from Neregate, by the way, a very good site for looking up charts of seasonal anime series and some great daily featured artworks. This chart is version 5, so everything here may not be updated. A brief explanation on my scoring system: they are merely a way of gauging whether I’m interested in watching a particular series. The titles colored blue are the series that I am most likely to watch (90% and above). They are NOT a way of determining whether I will blog about them or not (unless otherwise specified). I may occasionally come out with some posts about a single episode or more since that’s my style mixed with editorials. And so have a look!


Lupin III: Chi no Kokuin Eien no Mermaid

Lupin III: Chi no Kokuin Eien no Mermaid

I haven’t seen anything from the Lupin franchise, so I’m probably not going to watch this one.

Chances of me watching: 20%


Kyousogiga

Kyousogiga

A world of humans and youkai where three groups pursues power. This looks very interesting, plus the art looks nice.

Chances of me watching: 80%


Mobile Suit Gundam SEED HD remastered

Mobile Suit Gundam SEED HD remastered

I’m not a big mecha fan, plus I’m not familiar with Gundam story-wise, so I’m likely not to watch this.

Chances of me watching: 10%


Natsume Yuujinchou Shi

Natsume Yuujinchou Shi

I would love to watch this, but I have yet to even start the first season. Maybe I’ll reserve this for one giant marathon…

Chances of me watching: 50%


Shin Tennis no Ouji-sama

Shin Tennis no Ouji-sama

I’m not a big fan of sports shounen anime, so this is out as well.

Chances of me watching: 0%


Tantei Opera Milky Holmes 2

Tantei Opera Milky Holmes 2

This is another one of those series that I have an eye on, but has yet to see watch the previous season. Reserving this as well.

Chances of me watching: 50%


Recorder to Randoseru 

Recorder to Randoseru

Huh? Wait. The summary says that the tall man is the little bro and the short girl is the eldest? I’m not sure how I feel about this, but I shall reserve my judgement and check the first episode.

Chances of me watching: 60%


Kill Me Baby

Kill Me Baby

This seems like a cute comedy series. With assassins. I’ll check this out and see how it goes from there.

Chances of me watching: 70%


Amagami SS+

Amagami SS+

This is the sequel for Amagami SS, and this is another one of those series that I have an eye on, but has yet to watch the first season. Reserved for later or whenever I feel in the mood.

Chances of me watching: 50%


High School DxD

High School DxD

This seems like a cliche fanservice devil anime series. Might check this out. Might not. I’m feeling neutral and we’ll see.

Chances of me watching: 40%


Senhime Zesshou Symphogear

Senhime Zesshou Symphogear

This is a music-battle anime. That plus the artwork got me interested, so I’ll certainly be watching this.

Chances of me watching: 90%


Area no Kishi

Area no Kishi

I have read the manga, and it was quite good. But I stopped halfway thru wherever it is now, so I’m not sure if I want to watch this.

Chances of me watching: 30%


Zero no Tsukaima F

Zero no Tsukaima F

I’m definitely going to watch this one, if only just so that I can say that I’ve completed the Zero no Tsukaima once and for all.

Chances of me watching: 100%


Nisemonogatari

Nisemonogatari

YES. I cannot emphasize this enough. That is one big, fat, smothering yes! My top favorite anime series all-time is Bakemonogatari, so it’s given that I’ll watch this sequel! Also, I might consider episodic posts for this series.

Chances of me watching: 200%


Mouretsu Pirates

Mouretsu Pirates

Here’s a small confession. My top favorite real-life movie is Pirates of the Caribbean, and I do love pirates. I don’t see much pirates in anime. So this coupled with the fact that this is also sci-fi makes it well worth my time.

Chances of me watching: 90%


Brave 10

Brave 10

This is a re-telling of the legendary 10 warriors assembled by Sanada Yukimura. This got me interested, but the art just doesn’t really do it for me. Not sure where I stand at for this series.

Chances of me watching: 50%


Nichijou (EVT)

Nichijou (EVT)

Seems like this is a re-edited twelve episodes series of Nichijou. Maybe people who felt that Nichijou fell flat could give this a try. All I know is that I’m not sure if I want to rewatch it again, unless they have new material.

Chances of me watching: 70%


Rinne no Lagrange

Rinne no Lagrange

The first episode has been pre-aired, and first impressions around the blogosphere were: why are the skirts falling down all over this episode? I haven’t seen this episode (going to wait for a better quality video), but this is looking to turn out to be a fanservicey mecha series, and I’m feeling neutral.

Chances of me watching: 60%


Aquarion Evol

Aquarion Evol

I’m not sure if you need to have knowledge about the Aquarion franchise, but this seem like an interesting mecha series.

Chances of me watching: 70%


Poyopoyo Kansatsu Nikki

Poyopoyo Kansatsu Nikki

It’s a slice-of-life series about a spherical cat. Aw, cute! Is this a mini-series with short episodes?

Chances of me watching: 80%


Another

Another

Well, this seems like a nice horror(?) drama series. Plus it’s by P.A. Works, so I’m probably going to watch this.

Chances of me watching: 90%


Danshi Koukousei Nichijou

Danshi Koukousei Nichijou

The premise isn’t really interesting, and it doesn’t hook me in at all. May or may not watch this series.

Chances of me watching: 40%


Ano Natsu de Matteru

Ano Natsu de Matteru

This is an original romance anime series. I’m all for original anime series, so I’ll check this out!

Chances of me watching: 90%


Papa no Iu Koto o Kikinasai

Papa no Iu Koto o Kikinasai

Seems like a generic moe series, and the premise is mildly interesting. I might check this out or maybe not.

Chances of me watching: 50%


Inu x Boku SS

Inu x Boku SS

I’ve read the manga for this series, and it was pretty good. I might check this one out.

Chances of me watching: 80%


Thermae Romae

Thermae Romae

… An anime about bathing…? Just when you think you’ve seen or heard of everything in anime. Even so, I’m still not likely to watch this.

Chances of me watching: 20%


Danbouru Senki W

Danbouru Senki W

A kids’ anime series sequel. It’s kinda obvious that I’m not going to watch this.

Chances of me watching: 0%


Black ★ Rock Shooter

Black ★ Rock Shooter

I’m a big fan of the original OVA for the visuals, so I’m definitely watching this!

Chances of me watching: 100%


Smile Precure

Smile Precure

Not many would probably know about the Precure franchise, but it’s highly likely that I might watch this. Especially since I’m a fan of Heartcatch Precure.

Chances of me watching: 80%


And that wraps up the season preview. So we have 29 different anime series (some of them kiddies and some re-airing), and out of them it looks like I’ll be watching 7 anime series this season, give or take. Not too bad, I suppose. That should be all, and I suggest that you look forward to January 9th where there’ll be a special sort of carnival starting, not like what you’re used to!

8 Comments

Filed under Anime, Seasonal Previews

8 responses to “Winter 2011/2012 Previews & Impressions!

  1. Sooooo many meh shows coming out and a few that have me sooooo excited to watch! But I will only list the ones that I want…

    Kill me baby- Looks great! I really hope it can be the next Nichijou! For me I loved every crazy ass minute, not sure if I would re-watch that new “remake of Nichijou” I heard it is the original 24 episode series squeezed into 12 episodes, anyway Kill me baby has me interested.

    Aquarion EVOL– That might not be for everyone, but I remember the first series was popular with a lot of mecha fans. I am interested in seeing how things changed in the story line, but I am really watching for the action scenes and character designs.

    Mouretsu Pirates- Yesssssss!! I can’t freaking wait! It comes out on my birthday xD but I was turned away by the CGI space ships…but never know it might be a great series.

    And finally! Rinne no Lagrange, I saw that first preview episode and reviewed it and it seems to have mixed feelings for it. Some hated Madoka’s personality while others were turned away by the random fan-service. From my experience with most Mecha themed anime when ever you have a female lead in a series like this you will always have some fan service.

    A throwback series would be Gunbuster 1 and 2! Both of them have mostly female pilots and lots of bath scenes so that means a few topless shots lol…but anyway I feel that Lagrange will either go the way of Guilty Crown or become a huge hit like Star Driver.

    • I just watched Kill Me Baby last night, and I like it enough to keep watching. Definitely going to stick with it. ^_^

      Wow, I didn’t know your birthday is on the day Mouretsu Pirates comes out. Happy birthday!

  2. Wow, we have almost the same watchlist. I am planning on watching everything that you’ve listed as 90% or higher except for Black Rock Shooter. Symphogear is the most likely one I’d drop since I have no clue how good the story will be. I think Mouretsu Pirates is the one to look out for this season, it could either be brilliant or really crappy.

    • Symphogear has a really nice good first episode, and it got me interested and hooked. I’ll most certainly stick with it for now. I also agree that Mouretsu Pirates is a bit of gamble, and I’m looking forward to it now that it’s out. ^_^

  3. Kai

    You don’t see much pirates? Hmmm surprise. I think lots would already get tired of pirates watching One Piece D;

    Reading your list, I found new anime I might wanna watch in mine D; Most notably Senhime Zesshou Symphogear, the prospect of battling with music is pretty interesting. Other then that, I think our list is pretty much the same ;D I will/might watch most anime listed above 50% in your list ;p

  4. elior1

    i will watch ano natsu de matteru for sure becouse it from the director of onegai twins and onegai teacher

Come. Share your dreams...

